Prambanan Hindu Temple – spectacular spectacular: a photoblog

नमस्ते Today I visited the ancient Hindu temple at Prambanan, near Yogyakarta in Indonesia where I’m staying. It’s an incredible place and long before you reach the entrance you can see the enormous temples jut into the air.

Prambanan, long view

Unfortunately, the temple was badly damaged during an earthquake in 2006 so some of the major interior exhibits are closed and you can’t get up too close to the main temple, devoted to Shiva.

Goddess, Prambanan Temple

Still, there is still plenty to see and one or two temples are open still, as above – what’s more, it’s a dream for photographers, given it’s such a stunning place, so make sure to take your camera.

Steps to the Prambanan

Like Borobudur, which I visited this week too, there are corridors along the temple walls where a narrative takes place. This time, it’s from the Hindu epic the Ramayana.

Relief, from the Ramayana

Unlike Borobudur, there were few crowds and I waited patiently for them to clear before I took the shot of the steps, emptied of people (although there is an exit sign if you look closely enough: perhaps I’ll edit that out).

Ruins at the entrance to Prambanan

In any case, this is the second incredible temple I’ve seen in as many days and one that, like Borobudur, I shall not forget.

Prambanan, northern perspective

My last days here have been well spent indeed. नमस्ते

One thought on “Prambanan Hindu Temple – spectacular spectacular: a photoblog

Leave a comment